China NCPA Orchestra is to give five concerts in September

NCPA September/05/2018
In September, the China NCPA Orchestra will present five concerts. Conductors ZHANG Xian and Ashkenazy, as well as violinists LÜ Siqing and Moreno will come on stage to perform classic masterpieces by outstanding composers such as Bernstein, Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff.

Conductor ZHANG Xian and violinist LÜ Siqing

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the birth of Leonard Bernstein. On September 7th-8th, the orchestra will perform his classic masterpieces with violinist LÜ Siqing under ZHANG Xian’s baton. Apart from Overture to Candide, Serenade, composed by Bernstein for violin, orchestra, harp and percussion based on Plato’s Symposium, will be performed as well.

At the concert, the orchestra will also present masterpieces by Shostakovich and Berlioz. Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique, Op. 14, composed based on the composer’s personal experiences, tells a story that a lovelorn artist tries to kills himself with medicine, and has the illusion of himself visiting a magical palace. At the concert on September 8th, violinist LÜ Siqing will play Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 77.

Violinist Leticia Moreno and conductor Ashkenazy

On September 13th, maestro Ashkenazy will work with the orchestra to unveil NCPA “Pure Classical” 2018. Ashkenazy will conduct Khatchaturian and Tchaikovsky to reveal the Russian romantic and poetic charms. Violinist Leticia Moreno, an award winner of the Echo Music Award, will perform Khatchaturian’s Violin Concerto with the orchestra. In the second half, the poetic Russian melody will continue with Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64.

Conductor Thomas Søndergård and pianist Alexei Volodin

On September 19th and 21st, the China NCPA Orchestra will appear with Russian pianist Alexei Volodin to perform Sergei Rachmaninoff’s works, including Symphony No. 1 in D minor, Op. 13, Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18 and Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30, under Danish conductor Thomas Søndergård’s baton. Søndergård is the principal conductor of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and principal guest conductor of the Scotland’s National Orchestra. Pianist Volodin is an important virtuoso pianist in the world and will demonstrate his superb performance skills and innate Russian feelings with two piano concertos.



CALENDAR Full CalendarSpring Season 2020

GENREOperaConcertDance & BalletTheatreChinese Traditional Opera

Festivals & Series* Sound of Summer Blooms



Resident CompaniesChina NCPA OrchestraChina NCPA Chorus


Explore NCPA Buildings Exhibitions

Visit Info Opening Hours Guided Tours Services Getting Here

Dine&Shop Western Cuisine NCPA Café Arts Gifts


NCPA & The World The Moment Arts Exchange Events World Music Series Co-operative Organizations

Education & Outreach Weekend Concert Classic Arts Lecture Enter the World of Record Meet & Greet Outreach


THE NCPA Facilities Leadership Membership Philosophy Artistic Directors Contact Us Operation

© Copyright 2020 China NCPA